Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers 2018 Award Winners – Press Release

Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers 2018 Award Winners – Press Release

Universities lauded at Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers Conference

HOUSTON – (Oct. 25, 2018) – Universities committed to innovative entrepreneurship education and programs were recognized for their outstanding work at the 2018 Global Consortium of Entrepreneurship Centers (GCEC) Conference in Chicago Oct. 18-20. Now in its 22nd year, the conference was attended by more than 540 people from 250 top universities from around the globe, the most in the history of the organization.

Established in 1997, the GCEC’s administrative offices are housed at Rice University’s Jones Graduate School of Business.

Universities specializing in venture creation and specialty programs were among those acknowledged. The award winners were selected through a rigorous nomination and evaluation process that included review by a panel of 35 academic peers.

More than 100 university programs were nominated this year from the 250 GCEC member schools. Awards were presented in seven categories, including the top award, the Nasdaq Center of Entrepreneurial Excellence award. Since 2000, Nasdaq has honored university centers that have made and will continue to make important contributions in advancing entrepreneurship as a force in economic growth throughout the world.

“Entrepreneurship has become a central and vibrant educational component at most top universities around the world,” said Brad Burke, executive director of the GCEC and managing director of the Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship. “Universities play a critical role in global innovation and economic development. The GCEC has been a driver of vigorous and innovative academic and experiential entrepreneurial programs. More and more institutes of higher education are recognizing that teaching entrepreneurial skills is key to the success of our students and the world’s future economy.”

Complete list of award winners below:

Outstanding Contributions to Venture Creation

Winners: (two winners)
Stockholm School of Entrepreneurship – Stockholm School of Entrepreneurship
Michigan State University – MSU Entrepreneurship

Babson College – Arthur M. Blank Center for Entrepreneurship
The University of Notre Dame – The IDEA Center
Northern Kentucky University – Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Excellence in Specialty Entrepreneurship Education      

Babson College – Center for Women’s Entrepreneurial Leadership

Syracuse University – Institute for Veterans and Military Families
Miami University – Institute for Entrepreneurship
Massachusetts Institute of Technology – Tata Center for Design and Technology
University of Colorado – Boulder – Deming Center for Entrepreneurship

Excellence in Entrepreneurship Teaching and Pedagogical Innovation

Baylor University – John F. Baugh Center for Entrepreneurship and Free Enterprise

University of Virginia –  School of Engineering and Applied Science
North Carolina State University – NC State Entrepreneurship
Wake Forest University – Center for Entrepreneurship
University of Wales Trinity Saint David – International Institute for Creative Entrepreneurial Development

Outstanding Student Engagement & Leadership

Winners: (two winners)
The University of Notre Dame – The IDEA Center
Georgetown University – Georgetown Entrepreneurship Initiative

University of North Carolina Wilmington – Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
University of Nebraska at Kearney – Center for Entrepreneurship and Rural Development
Cornell University – Entrepreneurship at Cornell

Outstanding Emerging Entrepreneurship Center

Winners: (three winners)
Sydney School of Entrepreneurship – Sydney School of Entrepreneurship
Virginia Tech  –  Apex Center for Entrepreneurs
Vanderbilt University – the Wond’ry

West Virginia University –  LaunchLab
Smith College – Jill Ker Conway Innovation and Entrepreneurship Center
Federal University of Itajubá – Entrepreneurship Center of the Federal University of Itajubá

Exceptional Activities in Entrepreneurship Across Disciplines

Winners: (two winners)
University of Massachusetts Lowell – DifferenceMaker Program
University of Utah – Lassonde Entrepreneur Institute

London South Bank University – Clarence Centre for Enterprise and Innovation
California State University, Chico – Center for Entrepreneurship
Purdue University – Burton D. Morgan Center for Entrepreneurship

NASDAQ Center of Entrepreneurial Excellence

San Diego State University – Lavin Entrepreneurship Center

The GCEC is the premier academic organization addressing the emerging topics of importance to the nation’s university-based centers for entrepreneurship. It has become the vehicle by which the top, established entrepreneurship centers, as well as emerging centers, can work together to share best practices, develop programs and initiatives and collaborate and assist each other in advancing, strengthening and celebrating the role of universities in teaching the entrepreneurs of tomorrow.

This year’s GCEC Conference was hosted by DePaul University and the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT), and supported by other Chicago universities, including Northwestern University and the University of Chicago. Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel provided the opening address to the conference, along with DePaul President Gabriel Esteban and IIT President Alan Cramb. The Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship, Rice University serves as the executive center for GCEC. The Nasdaq award was presented by Pam Buchanan, managing director of Nasdaq.


Jeff Falk
[email protected]

Quynhmai Nguyen
[email protected]

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.